
 

 
 
 
 

 
VOLLEYBALL ENGLAND RULES AND REGULATIONS 2025-26 SEASON  

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
 
SECTION 1: RULES INTERPRETATION 
 

1. The setter plays the 2nd team hit in a clear double contact. As a result, the ball travels closer 
to the net than intended. A defending team player reaches over and blocks the ball in the 
opponents' court space with an attacking team player in position to play the 3rd team hit.  
Should the referee whistle a ‘double contact’? 

In this situation the blocker has prevented an attacker from playing the ball (the 3rd hit of the team) and 
therefore the decision of the referee should be ‘reaching beyond’ against the blocker. 

2. A setter attempts to set up an attack but because of a double contact the ball travels over the 
net into the opponent’s court and not near his outside hitter.  Should this ball be judged for 
double contact? 

Yes, this is a clear case where the second internal hit has become an attack hit and therefore the double 
contact should be judged as a fault.  The referee can only whistle once the attack hit has been completed. 

3. The player on the second team hit plays the ball but in doing so the ball slips through their 
hands and hits their head.  The contacts occur in the same playing action; is this allowed under 
the new interpretation? 

No, this is a clear case where the player has made two distinctly different contacts on the ball and therefore 
this is a double contact. 

4. Does the relaxation of the rule for the second team hit also apply to the first team hit?  If the 
first team hit becomes an attack hit, should it be judged for double contact? 

No, there is no change to the long-understood judgement of the first team hit.  Multiple contacts are 
allowed on the first team hit if they occur in the same playing action.  If this becomes an attack hit, then 
play will continue. 

5. The 2nd referee identifies a positional fault in the receiving team at the moment the ball is 
tossed for service.  When should they whistle the fault? 

The ball Is not in play until the moment of the service hit.  Therefore, the 2nd referee must NOT whistle the 
positional fault of the receiving team until after the service hit.  Rule 12.6.1 still applies in that a fault of the 
service execution has precedence over a positional fault of the receiving team. 

6. How should we deal with positional faults on the receiving team? 



Unless it is completely obvious—like players are fully switched and clearly out of position—let it go. 
Smooth Refereeing is about prioritising what matters, reading the moment, and stepping in only when 
necessary.  Coaches have asked for fewer interruptions to keep the game flowing. 

7. A player of the receiving team is at position 5 but wishes to go to position 1.  On the ball toss 
they run out the back of the court to gain their intended position.  Is this a positional fault? 
 

Rule 7.4 is clear:  At the moment the ball is hit by the server, each team must be positioned within its own 
court (except the server).  Therefore, a player that has left the court prior to the service hit is out of position 
and the 2nd referee would whistle this as a positional fault at the moment of the service hit. 
 

8. A back row player of the serving team is stood at the net during service acting like a front row 
player.  Is this player out of position? 

 
Whilst the players of the serving team can occupy any position on the playing court at the point of service 
this type of action by a back row player should be discouraged.  There is no benefit to this player acting in 
this way as they must revert to the back row as soon as the ball crosses the plane of the net following the 
service. 
 

9. The serving team opposite player is in rotation at position 4 and the teams outside hitter in the 
front row is at position 2.  When the server hits the ball, the opposite player is stood at position 
2 and the outside hitter is at position 4.  Is this allowed? 

 
Yes, this is one of the more obvious changes allowed for the serving team to occupy any position at the 
service hit.  The two players must remember that if service is lost then they must return to their correct 
positions in the rotational order. 
 

10. A player of the serving team stands at the net with their hands raised next to their head but not 
protecting the back of their head.  Is this action allowed? 

 
The spirit of the rule change to blocking is that players should be allowed to protect themselves.  Raising 
their hands to the level of their head whilst not protecting themselves is not in the spirit of this rule change.  
The 1st referee must intervene and request that the player lower their hands.  Failure to do so would result 
in a screening fault when the ball is hit by the server. 
 

11. An attacking player spikes the ball towards the opponent.  The attack hit is blocked by the 
receiving team, and the ball strikes the attacking player on the head whilst they are still above 
the top of the net.  Can this be classified as a block and the team have three hits to return the 
ball? 

 
No, the definition of a block cannot be applied in this instance.  This must be classified as the first hit of 
the team.  The attacking player is not attempting to intercept the ball coming from the opponent. 
 

12. A back-row player attacks the ball and in doing so their momentum carries them into the 
opponent court.  Should this player be sanctioned with a penalty for entering the opponent 
court without cause? 

 
No, this is not how this guideline should be implemented.  The guidance that a player that enters the 
opponent court without cause should receive a penalty (or other sanction if already served a penalty) 



applies only where a player does so to air a grievance or to confront an opponent player.  Players entering 
the opponent court to check on an opponent player’s welfare, or through an extension of a playing action, 
should be permitted to do so as long they return to their own court as soon as possible.  
 
SECTION 2: NATIONAL VOLLEYBALL LEAGUE REGULATIONS 
 

1.  Post Padding 
 
The match confirmation should include confirmation that post-padding for both the posts themselves and 
the base (if required).  If this is not stated on the confirmation, please contact the club and ask the 
question.  All clubs will be sent the below policy from Competitions.   
 
For the avoidance of doubt – if the post-padding, or mitigation, is not in place then the match cannot take 
place.  If the match confirmation says that post-padding is not available, then the referees do not need to 
travel.  Do not referee a match in a VE Competition without the padding in place – you will potentially be 
jeopardising your insurance if any injury occurs. 
 
Which competitions does this encompass? 

1. All National competitions, including; 
1. National Volleyball League 
2. National Cup 
3. National Shield 
4. Student Cup 
5. U18/U16/U15 Junior Grand Prix Series & Inter-Regional Championships 
6. Sitting Volleyball Grand Prix 

 
What are the standards? 

1. As determined through the Volleyball England Facilities Strategy on pages 12 and 13 post padding 
and base protection are required  

2. This is reinforced in the NVL Regulations “D.3 Equipment MOS, All equipment to adhere to Minimum 
operating standards: The aim of the MOS are to increase the presentation of matches, increase 
participant satisfaction and create an aspirational pathway through the leagues, to lower barriers to 
entry into National competitions in the NVL and in the National Cup and Shield and reduce 
unplanned costs.” 

1. (12) Post Pads – To enhance player safety by reducing the risk of injury from impacts with the 
posts and base during play. It shall be correctly fitted before the warmup. 

2. (13) Base Padding- If the posts have anchor points, then base padding is required to ensure 
all components of the base are entirely covered. 
 

What are my solutions if I am missing either? 
1. Purchase the equipment.  This can be found on VolleyStore. 
2. If this is not possible in the short term could you partner with another local club / facility to share 

the equipment, or enquire with the away team? 
3. If this is not possible please contact competitions@volleyballengland.org to have a conversation 

about a temporary solution. 
 

Why is there no relaxation of this regulation? 
Any volleyball injuries caused as a consequence of equipment are assessed by Volleyball England's 
insurance provider. If the equipment used does not have the protection as outlined in Volleyball England's 

https://eur02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Furl.uk.m.mimecastprotect.com%2Fs%2FzwLECjADNUyBAphWfZtmfBSU%3Fdomain%3Dvolleyballengland.org&data=05%7C02%7Cn.heckford%40volleyballengland.org%7C29f905d9989c49e704d008ddf6c34fb2%7Cb70666f61c18485daef98452087658a1%7C1%7C0%7C638938040923388102%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJFbXB0eU1hcGkiOnRydWUsIlYiOiIwLjAuMDAwMCIsIlAiOiJXaW4zMiIsIkFOIjoiTWFpbCIsIldUIjoyfQ%3D%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=zrzw1Jp%2Bac32BlmCalci7pmRG%2BZ%2FSauT2dj1Jrg3R3U%3D&reserved=0
https://eur02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Furl.uk.m.mimecastprotect.com%2Fs%2FeTiECk6ENuqK4mhVhrtGWp86%3Fdomain%3Dvolleystore.co.uk&data=05%7C02%7Cn.heckford%40volleyballengland.org%7C29f905d9989c49e704d008ddf6c34fb2%7Cb70666f61c18485daef98452087658a1%7C1%7C0%7C638938040923414539%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJFbXB0eU1hcGkiOnRydWUsIlYiOiIwLjAuMDAwMCIsIlAiOiJXaW4zMiIsIkFOIjoiTWFpbCIsIldUIjoyfQ%3D%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=WuGXsWNuL0Cnstpv50NL9gDn6XC8FBGpc9EaBmH6laE%3D&reserved=0
mailto:competitions@volleyballengland.org


Technical Guidelines the match was not played following the correct standards.  Volleyball England are 
currently managing claims from last season of this nature, and cannot relax standards that may jeopardise 
the outcomes of claims. 
 

2.  Coach 
 
The issue of ‘who can be coach?’ and recorded on the scoresheet as such is raised each year.  A coach 
under the NVL regulations must have a Club Coach (L2) qualification or be in the process of gaining such 
qualification.  Therefore, please follow the guidance below: 
 

• The teams should produce a printed copy of the team sheet for that match which should 
have all the participants listed including the coaching staff (this can be electronic but must 
be completed properly). 

• If a coach has been entered into the ‘Coach’ position in the team sheet, then the referees 
must accept that coach as ‘Head Coach’ and allow them to fulfil all the responsibilities of 
the coach at that match. 

• Referees should not request ‘proof of qualification’ from a coach. 
 
If a coach attends a match with a team but is not shown on the team sheet from VolleyZone as the coach 
then they cannot assume the responsibility at the match.  The rules of game allow an assistant coach to 
become coach but only where the coach is absent after the match has commenced – that is, the coach 
has to be present at the start of the match.  A coach is not absent by being a player on court. 
 
If the team has no coach, then the team captain will assume the role.   
 
If at the end of the match the team shown in VolleyZone is not the same as the team that has played the 
match then please make sure a comment is added in the Referee Remarks.  
 
 
 
 
This FAQ is version 1 and dated 22nd Sept 2025. 


